Ohio Mayflower Descendants...

Home Colonies Compact/passengers History Humor Membership News State Info Scholarships Wampanoag                   

                                                                 Mayflower Compact     1620

Established the first basis for written law in America,

  and served as the basis for the Constitution of the United States.

IN THE NAME OF GOD, AMEN. We, whose names are underwritten, the Loyal Subjects of our dread Sovereign Lord King James,

by the Grace of God, of Great Britain, France, and Ireland, King, Defender of the Faith, &c. Having undertaken for the Glory of God,

 and Advancement of the Christian Faith, and the Honour of our King and Country, a Voyage to plant the first Colony in the northern

Parts of Virginia; Do by these Presents, solemnly and mutually, in the Presence of God and one another, covenant and combine ourselves

together into a civil Body Politick, for our better Ordering and Preservation, and Furtherance of the Ends aforesaid: And by Virtue hereof

do enact, constitute, and frame, such just and equal Laws, Ordinances, Acts, Constitutions, and Officers, from time to time, as shall be

thoughtmost meet and convenient for the general Good of the Colony; unto which we promise all due Submission and Obedience.


IN WITNESS whereof we have hereunto subscribed our names at Cape-Cod the eleventh of November, in the Reign of our Sovereign Lord King James,

of England, France, and Ireland, the eighteenth, and of Scotland the fifty-fourth, Anno Domini; 1620.


Signers of Compact

John Alden

Isaac Allerton

John Allerton

John Billington

William Bradford

William Brewster

Richard Britteridge

Peter Brown

John Carver

James Chilton

Richard Clarke

Francis Cooke

John Crackston

Edward Doty

Francis Eaton

Thomas English

Moses Fletcher

Edward Fuller

Samuel Fuller

Richard Gardiner

John Goodman



Stephen Hopkins

John Howland

Edward Leister

Edmon Margeson

Christopher Martin

William Mullins

Degory Priest

John Rigdale

Thomas Rogers

George Soule

Myles Standish

Edward Tilly

John Tilly

Thomas Tinker

John Turner

Richard Warren

William White

Thomas Williams

Edward Winslow

Gilbert Winslow



Do you have suggestions or changes for our website?

Please email Webmaster/Designer Diana troutriver@cros.net